Skip to content

Weekend Fun & Amazing New Sale

November 15, 2010

Wow! What a weekend! I can’t believe what I accomplished in 48hrs — 2 quilt tops, prep work on our CRAZY Holiday Sale and even attended a book signing. Whew, I can’t believe it’s Monday already.

The Book Signing
Starlet Reid's Book SigningFirst, the book signing. This week mark a monumental event for a good friend, Starlet Reid. We’ve know each other for almost 6 years now. When I first met she had dreams of starting a book and 6 years later her dreams became a reality. She is truly an inspiration to me and for everyone out there dreaming of something big and desiring to leave a legacy. Her book, “I’m Changing: Friendships, Drama and Oh…The Comma!,” is about a young middle school lady trying to understand her changing body amidst a new school, cliques and lip gloss. I’m in the middle of reading it now, it and brings back so many good, bad and hilarious memories.Especially, the main character, Tina, has to purchase her first bra. If you’re interested in learning more about the book, it’s available on Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Im-Changing-Friendships-Drama-Oh/dp/1432740261/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1290444845&sr=8-2).  And did I mention, one of the character’s is named after me? Check out page four ;)

The Quilt Tops:
fandango jelly roll After the book signing, I went home and sewed…..and sewed. The end result was two fabulous quilt tops — one in Fandago and another made entirely with Kona Solids.

I love them both but I have to tell you, Daisy Chain is quickly becoming my favorite pattern. The particular quilt top was cut and sewn in two weeks. Yes! Two weeks flat. That’s pretty impressive for a women that works a full time job, operates an online store and sews whenever possible. I’m actually pretty dang proud if me, if I do say so myself :) Daisy Chain #2

The second quilt, from Kona Solids, has been months in the making and it’s only 45in square. I’m not sure why but these colors just didn’t inspire me to sew as much as I’d hoped they would. Though to be honest, this really isn’t my usual style. I generally lean more on the “fresh” quilting side, rather than the “Modern Quilting.” Fabric patterns and cheerful colors just Kona Solid Quilt in Cerise, Navy and Limemotivate me to sew and keep going until the project is finished. Perhaps, it’s because I love the watching different colors zoom through my machine. Yeah, I’m a little fabric obsessed like that. Hopefully, this quilt will find a good home. I’m going to post in my store for sell within the next two weeks after it is quilted. It will be my first quilt officially for sale.

The Crazy Holiday Sale:
While I was redecorating the craft room, I notice something. I have entirely too much fabric left in stock. So, starting Black Friday, FreeSpirit Fabric, books and patterns are on sale to make room for 2010 fabric. I’m pretty sure there will be something to catch your eye. Be sure to check the store early November 26th.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. wickedwickedwitch permalink
    November 23, 2010 4:52 am

    I think they both look great. I have many clients who need that book. Mazel tov to your friend.

    • November 24, 2010 11:15 pm

      Thank you, Nic! I’ll see if can get another copy from her. We’re having lunch in two weeks. I’d love to hear your review of it or what what your clients think of it. thanks for the compliments on my quilts. Hopefully they will done in time to bring to our December meeting.

  2. November 24, 2010 2:24 am

    I will definitely be looking at your store! And I LOVE the quilt tops. Can you tell me which Jelly Roll book it is that you love again? And is the Daisy Chain pattern from that book? I’ve been highly considering a similar pattern and I just bought th perfect jelly roll for it. Thanks a million!

    P.S. Congratulations to your friend! I am always so proud of people who follow their dreams and publish. I am in the midst of such a project myself.

    • November 24, 2010 11:26 pm

      Thanks for checking out my store! Some items are already listed now for 5.50/yard for out of print Joel Dewberry fabric. Kona and Essex were added today for 4.50/ yard and 5.75/ yard, respectively. Just convo before you purchase anything and create a special listing for you with shipping costs :) You live entirely too close to pay for that.

      Also, pattern is from Pam and Nickey Lintott’s book, Jelly Roll Quilts. It’s by far my favorite book for jelly rolls or 2.5 inch strips because I can build an entire quilt for scraps. I got it used from Amazon.com and it has proven to the “go to” book when I need to complete a quilt in 2 weeks. I’ll bring it to our next meeting if you’d like to check it out. Can’t wait to see you at our next meeting!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

