Skip to content

GA Shop Hop

October 15, 2009

I’ve been sewing for a while, but it’s only been recently that I’ve gotten the quilting bug. Since I usually purchase my fabrics online, I was curious about the local quilting shops. Thus, I created my own little GA Shop hop.

I started in Marietta, and then headed north to Lawrenceville, then Buford and finally ending in Flowery Branch.

Stop 1:

Tiny Stitches

2520 E Piedmont Rd #H

Marietta

770.565.1113

www.tinystitches.com

A wonderful shop that offers frequent buyer programs. Definitely call to inquire if you’re a fabric hoarder. I found the personnel warm and welcoming. As I strolled through the store I could over hear quilting instructing taking place in the adjacent sewing/classroom. They offer a selection of designer fabric.

Stop 2:

Little Quilts

1450C Roswell Rd

Marietta

770.578.6727

www.littlequilts.com

It’s hard to miss this retail shop as the building face resembles a quaint cottage. It even has a rocking chair on the front porch!

When I walked through the door the first thing I noticed was the hand-died wool to my right. I’ve never actually used wool in my creations, but with all of the colors available here, I felt inspired to make something out of them.

Little Quilts has generous number of historic and reproduction prints available in its first room, while the second room carries more modern designers.

As far as shopping specials, for every $150 spent, you receive a free yard. So hold on to those receipts!

Stop 3:

Red Hen Fabrics

305 North Cherokee St

Marietta

770.794.8549

www.redhenfabrics.com

“Oh my!” were the only words that came to mind when I walked through the red barn doors. Their selection of fabrics is awe inspiring! If you’re looking for that hard to find match color, definitely stop in here.

Their fabrics are organized by color, so it was a little difficult to determine how many retro prints were available, but the store layout makes it supper easy to coordinate fabric.

Quilting classes are available and a long arm is available for rent.

Stop 4:

Patchwork Cottage

2070 Sugarloaf Pkwy #1100

Lawrenceville

770.237.5455

www.patchworkcottagequilting.com

This was the youngest of the stores that I visited. Their grand opening was just last March. Yet, this store offers lots of promise and whole lot of quilting classes. They offer a nice combination of retro, historic, and modern designs. Sign up for their newsletter to get the latest class schedule.

Stop 5:

Georgia Sewing & Quilting

1651 Horizon Pkwy Ste 800

Buford

770.831.7990

www.georgiasewingandquilting.net

A personal favorite of mine, I always enjoy going and perusing new fabrics. There’s a nice selection of fabric, but I generally purchase Moda solids from them as they carry most of the line. The sales staff is knowledgeable and their recommendations are spot on.

They offer classes and long arm rentals.

Stop 6:

Betty Sue’s Quilt Shop

7419 Spout Springs Rd

Flowery Branch, GA

Link:

I spent so much time at the other stores, that this one was closed by the time arrived. Check back soon for an update on this one.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

