Skip to content

Christmas Quilts

December 24, 2009


DSC01820

Originally uploaded by avalanden

I’m not sure how I started quilting. I’ve been asked so many times but I can never remember the exact moment when I said, “I going to make a quilt.” It just sorta happened…

I walked in the JoAnn’s in the Summer of 2009 and noticed that they were closing their sewing machine section. All of the machines were marked down 40% or more, so I picked one up and a yard of fabric. I don’t remember having any special project in mind. I was just going to sew something.

When I got home, I immediately set it up on the kitchen table and began to sew a zippered wristlet from a pattern I had found online. Why? I’m not sure. All I remember was the joy of finishing it. I just looked at it and smiled. I did it. I made something. I created something just for me. That sense of happiness consumed me and I was off to create something else. Quilts.

It’s only been 4 months since I started quilting and I’ve started 5 quilts and completed 2. The two quilts in the picture above are my very first two quilts that I’ve ever created. They have happy homes with my parents, but I was really sad to see them go. These quilts help rescue me from a period overwhelming sadness from feeling lost in life. They provided me with the motivation to wake up everyday and know that I can created something meaningful in this world.

I know that at the end of the day quilts are just bundles of cotton, but for me quilting has given my life direction, awakened creativity and encourage my pursuit of happiness.

My Christmas wish for all of you is to find happiness and love in all that you do.

Merry Christmas,

Ava

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

