Skip to content

Quilt Along: Fabric Requirements

December 30, 2009

Our 2010 Quilt Along begins this weekend January 2!

In preparation for it, I’ve listed all of the fabric requirements below. Since, this quilt is intended to be produced from your stash, I’ve included fabric requirements for various fabric sizes. If need other specialty cut requirements, please send an email (ava {at} avalanden {dot} com) and I’ll get those right over to you.

As you select your fabrics, feel free to post pictures on our Flickr Group. I can’t wait to see all of your quilts!

Brick Quilt Fabric Requirements:

Block Size: 4.5 inch square
Number of blocks: 156

Finished Dimensions: 48.5″ x 52.5″

Fabric Requirements:
If using a Jelly Roll:
18 Assorted prints in 2.5″ by WOF strips

18 Solid color 2.5″ by WOF strips for background
Note: A single jelly roll should produce 9 bricks.

If using Fat Quarters:
6 assorted fat quarters
6 solid fat quarters for background
Note: Each fat quarter strip (2.5″ x 22″) will yield 4 bricks. Each Fat Quarter (18″ x 22″) will produce 28 bricks.

If using Yardage:
1.25 total in assorted prints and colors
1.25 total in solid background color

Batting Size: At least 54″ by 58″
Binding: (6) 2.5″ x WOF strips OR 15 inches of Fabric
Backing Fabric: 3 1/8 yards of backing fabric

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2010 12:38 pm

    our perusing new blogs, ENJOYING my finds. I’ll be chewing on this Quilt-along while down in my quilting room later…I’m sure I have some stash calling out to me to join in!

  2. January 2, 2010 5:02 pm

    Hi Amy:
    Thanks for joining in! I can’t wait to see which fabrics you choose.

Leave a Reply

