Skip to content

Day 9: Sewing Rows Together

January 10, 2010

Whew — that was a lot of chain sewing yesterday. Don’t worry if you didn’t complete all of it. We have a complete week to finish these activities. The next major activity won’t be listed until next Saturday.

Now, sewing our rows together…

Video:

Written Instructions:

Step 1: Pin two rows together

Take to row and pin them together with right sides facing. Be sure that the rows alternating.

Step 2: Sew rows together

Sew the rows using a quarter inch seam allowance.

Step 3: Press Seams Open

After each side is sewn, press the seams open.
Press Seams Open

Note: Sew the rows in sets of 2’s, then 4’s, until all rows are sewn.DSC00239

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Liz B permalink
    January 10, 2010 9:18 pm

    gah! here i was planning to keep along at your pace and not get ahead, and now i’m behind! i got distracted by another project and i don’t even have all my squares cut. 😛

  2. Sharlene permalink
    January 10, 2010 10:08 pm

    I am so excited to have found your helpful tutorials. I am not a quilter, and I think I can do this project with your guidance. My question is: will I be able to access your material after you are finished with this quilt? I have saved the lessons in my Favorites on my computer.

    I have had to acquire some plain fabric to use with the some cotton prints I found under my mother’s bed after she passed . . . dissambled dirndle skirts, shirts, curtains, etc. These fabrics are from the 40’s and 50’s, and I think this will be a great way to bring this part of my life back. Thank you so much.

    • January 17, 2010 4:49 pm

      Welcome Sharlene!
      I’m so glad you’ll be joining us. I won’t be removing any of the videos or written tutorials and they will remain open and available to the entire quilting community.

      Quilting is an excellent way to integrate our past and present. I know your mother would be proud. It sounds like you have a fair amount of fabric available. If you like, I can do the measurements and fabric requirements for a larger quilt. Just let me know. Thanks again for joining us and look forward to seeing your quilt.

  3. Brandy permalink
    January 16, 2010 9:44 pm

    waitinng…waiting…for today’s instructions :O)

Leave a Reply

