Skip to content

The Rules: Sew-A-Thon

September 21, 2010

I’m so excited I can hardly contain myself for this Friday’s event. I’ve never participated in this type of event, so to be honest I’m not even sure what to expect.

I did receive a letter containing all of the rules, so here are the highlights — with my commentary of course 🙂

Rule #1: Contestants sew fifty-five (55) minutes out of each hour until only one stitcher remains. So, ummm…. I only get five minutes to pee. I really hope there isn’t a line.

Rule #2: Stitchers provide their own patterns, fabric, thread, notions and machines. I can live with this one. However, I have to wonder, “how much fabric is too much fabric?” Can I bring bolts?

Rule #3. Sewing activities include: cutting; pinning; stitching; pressing. Waiting to use the iron and reading instructions do not constitute sewing activities. If instructions must be followed for a project, you may ask someone to read them aloud to you, or have them pre-recorded if you’re technologically savvy. I do hope my husband can read directions correctly after midnight and can sew to them without diagrams.

Rule #4. You’ll be inside an invisible bubble with a 10-foot radius around your machine, to help you focus. All sewing must be productive, i.e. must be working toward a usable finished project. Sewing straight lines on scrap fabric or creating sewing “samplers” does not qualify and will sadly result in elimination. Dang!


Rule #5. Failing to actively engage in a sewing activity as defined above for more than five minutes, falling asleep at your station, or leaving your station to use the restroom outside of break times violates these guidelines and will result in elimination from the contest. Again, I really hope I can pee in five minutes or less. I’d really hate for that to be my downfall.

Rule #6. If at any point you require medical attention, alert the monitor or judge immediately and first aid will be provided for you. If you require prescription medications, please alert the staff prior to the contest.

Rule #7. When you’ve had enough, simply back away from the machine and say, “I’m done!” This will alert the judge(s) that you’re leaving the contest. Ha! Hardly unlikely. I rather fall asleep on machine then bow out gracefully!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2010 1:21 am

    Sounds like fun and I hope you do a follow-up post! Good luck !!

    • September 21, 2010 1:59 am

      Of course! I’m so excited I can barely contain myself.

Leave a Reply

