Skip to content

Sew-a-Thon Update

September 27, 2010

At approximately 7pm on Friday, September 24, 2010, 12 crafty women commenced sewing. Some worked on children’s clothing, another on reversible bags, and one ambitious young lady diligently worked on a wedding dress. As for me, I worked on a baby quilt.

By the time midnight rolled around we were still 12 women strong. It wasn’t until the introduction of the pillow case challenges that people were picked off one at a time. The first couple of rounds it was easy to sew the pillow cases fairly quickly, but at around 5.30am it seemed like an impossible task. And it was. I lost the 5.30am pillow case challenge and took home 3rd place. At the time, I was a little disappointed in myself. When I reached my bed and sleep fell upon me, I was relieved and happy.

The winner of this Sew-a-thon sewed for 13.5 hours straight. Yes, that’s right! She was seated in front of me and I can’t think of a better person to lose to.

As for me, I’m off to catch up on more sleep. I still haven’t recovered fully.

Updated:

Here’s a pic of the quilt I worked on during the Sew-a-Thon. All it’s missing is the binding.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 8:57 pm

    Good going … third out of 12 is awesome. I’m tired just hearing about it!

    • September 29, 2010 12:53 am

      Yes, it was definitely a long night! But I got so much done.

Leave a Reply

